motcombe gardens

A picture is worth a thousand words

The camera on iPhone 5c

6 Comments

Smartphone cameras are proving very popular with many consumers, understandably so the quality now in most is really excellent having improved significantly over the last few years, who wants to carry another camera around when you already have one on your mobile phone. I took a few quick shots with mine today to see what it is capable of after upgrading from a iPhone 4 recently because of the 5c`s faster processor. My shots reveal a camera capable of extremely good results in close-ups and normal pictures in sunlight with good colour and exposure also good low light capabilities with very little noise. The one drawback for me was the loss of a lot of detail (clarity) when you start to zoom in on a subject even in the HDR (high dynamic range) mode. So then fine for most pictures most of the time but with certain limitations for my personal tastes, the panorama feature works well and is easy to use. Overall then I still prefer to have a camera with me that may not be so convenient to carry but will give better results in all types of situations.

Clematis Montana

IMG_0033 (1200x856)

 Excellent colour and exposure

IMG_0028 (900x1200)

The Italian Garden Holywell. It handles the light and dark areas quite well

IMG_0025 (1200x855)

Eastbourne from the top of Royal Eastbourne golf club. Medium zoom with  loss of some detail

IMG_0030 (1200x856)

  Maximum zoom with loss of most fine detail

IMG_0027 (1200x900)

Low light.  Very little noise and good colour accuracy under artificial light

photo (6) (857x1200)

Author: holywellchalet

Retired medical officer, lives near the beach in sunny Eastbourne, lifelong interest in photography. Part time gardener, full time beach chalet user and swimmer (weather permitting) likes a glass of wine and a good book. Wife of 49 years and counting, two terrific children and two lovely grandchildren

6 thoughts on “The camera on iPhone 5c

  1. Not bad photos considering -by resolution do you mean clarity – sorry I ‘ not very well up on photographic terminology

  2. My mobile phone is fairly old fashioned and just used for calls and texts in an emergency so I don;t use the camera on it much. My husband has an Iphone though that takes reasonable photos. I do take occasional photos with my Ipad mainly to create jigsaws for the jigsaw app. I do find it amusing watching people holding up Ipads to take photos when they are out and about – reverse miniaturisation.

  3. I am impressed with the quality of these pictures from the iPhone. Sarah x

  4. so am I with reservations Sarah

Leave a comment